Recom­men­da­ti­ons on Green Open Access
You are wel­come to com­ment on the recom­men­da­ti­ons below!
Recom­men­da­tion 1 | Green Open Access

The sup­port of an infra­struc­ture of repo­si­to­ries (Green Open Access) should be con­ti­nued uncon­di­tio­nally, though with a stron­ger coor­di­na­tion of indi­vi­dual activi­ties. The dif­fe­ren­tia­tion of the sci­en­ti­fic publi­ca­tion sys­tem into disci­plines and rese­arch areas sug­gests that in order to create ser­vices with added value (e.g. alert-systems and search func­tions), prio­rity be given to repo­si­to­ries orga­ni­zed on the basis of sub­jects or rese­arch fields.

Addres­sees: Sci­en­tists and fun­ding organizations

Recom­men­da­tion 2 | Green Open Access

The accep­ted manu­script ver­sion (§ 38 IV UrhG – Ger­man copy­right law) of sub­mis­si­ons to perio­di­cally publis­hed collec­tions should be acces­si­ble elec­tro­ni­cally at the time of accep­tance for publi­ca­tion. Beyond that it is recom­men­ded that the legis­la­tor examine if the digi­tal second publi­ca­tion right could be exten­ded to the publisher’s ver­sion with final lay­out after an appro­priate time of, for example, 12 months.

Addres­sees: Legislatures

Recom­men­da­tion 3 | Copy­right Law

The steps taken by the law­ma­kers to remove obst­a­cles for open access are wel­come even though the legal situa­tion could be fur­ther impro­ved. The imme­diate acces­si­bi­lity of the author’s ver­sion should be secu­red (cf. 3). It should also be cla­ri­fied that the right of secon­dary uti­liza­tion accor­ding to § 38 IV UrhG (Ger­man copy­right law) also applies to sub­mis­si­ons from mem­bers of public insti­tu­ti­ons of hig­her education.

Addres­sees: Legislatures

Recom­men­da­tion 4 | Green Open Access

Lear­ned socie­ties, publis­hers and the sci­en­ti­fic com­mu­nity as a whole are cal­led on to deve­lop stan­dards for the archi­ved ver­sion as well as cita­tion con­ven­ti­ons with the objec­tive to achieve a full-fledged usa­bi­lity of green open access ver­si­ons.


Addres­sees: Lear­ned socie­ties, sci­en­ti­fic com­mu­nity and publis­hers

Recom­men­da­tion 5 | Open Access Mandates

The intro­duc­tion of soft open access man­da­tes by rese­arch and fun­ding orga­niza­ti­ons that encou­rage sci­en­tists to publish their rese­arch results open access is wel­come. Strong man­da­tes that amount to being an injunc­tion, on the other hand, are rejec­ted because of poten­tial disad­van­ta­ges for the choice of the ori­gi­nal place of publication.

Addres­sees: Fun­ding organizations

Com­ments

Emp­feh­lun­gen zum Thema Green Open Access
Gern kön­nen Sie unten einen Kom­men­tar zu den Emp­feh­lun­gen in die­sem The­men­feld hin­ter­las­sen.
Emp­feh­lung 1 | Green Open Access

Die För­de­rung einer Repo­si­to­ri­en­in­fra­struk­tur (Green Open Access) sollte, bei stär­ke­rer Koor­di­na­tion der Ein­zel­ak­ti­vi­tä­ten, unbe­dingt bei­be­hal­ten wer­den. Die Dif­fe­ren­zie­rung des wis­sen­schaft­li­chen Publi­ka­ti­ons­sys­tems ent­lang von Dis­zi­pli­nen und For­schungs­fel­dern legt es nahe, zur Schaf­fung von Mehr­wert­diens­ten (z. B. Alert-Systemen und Such­mas­ken zu Recher­che­zwe­cken) fach– oder for­schungs­feld­spe­zi­fi­sche Repo­si­to­rien bevor­zugt zu fördern.

Adres­sa­ten: Wis­sen­schaft und wis­sen­schaflti­che Förderorganisationen

Emp­feh­lung 2 | Green Open Access

Die akzep­tierte Manu­skript­ver­sion (§ 38 Abs. 4 UrhG) von Bei­trä­gen zu perio­disch erschei­nen­den Samm­lun­gen sollte zum Zeit­punkt der Annahme zur Publi­ka­tion unmit­tel­bar elek­tro­nisch zugäng­lich und umfas­send nutz­bar gemacht wer­den kön­nen. Dar­über hin­aus wird dem Gesetz­ge­ber emp­foh­len zu prü­fen, ob das Zweit­ver­öf­fent­li­chungs­recht nach einer ange­mes­se­nen War­te­frist von bei­spiels­weise 12 Mona­ten auch auf die Ver­lags­ver­sion mit fina­lem Lay­out aus­ge­dehnt wer­den kann.

Adres­sa­ten: Gesetzgeber

Emp­feh­lung 3 | Urheberrecht

Die bis­he­ri­gen gesetz­ge­be­ri­schen Schritte, urhe­ber­recht­li­che Hin­der­nisse für Open Access zu besei­ti­gen, wer­den begrüßt, wenn­gleich die Geset­zes­lage ver­bes­se­rungs­wür­dig ist: Sicher­ge­stellt wer­den sollte die sofor­tige Ver­füg­bar­keit der Auto­ren­ver­sion (siehe 3). Außer­dem sollte klar­ge­stellt wer­den, dass das Zweit­ver­öf­fent­li­chungs­recht gemäß § 38 Abs. 4 UrhG auch Bei­träge von Ange­hö­ri­gen staat­li­cher Hoch­schu­len erfasst.

Adres­sa­ten: Gesetzgeber

Emp­feh­lung 4 | Green Open Access

Wis­sen­schaft­li­che Fach­ge­sell­schaf­ten, Ver­lage und die wis­sen­schaft­li­che Com­mu­nity ins­ge­samt sind auf­ge­for­dert, sowohl Stan­dards für die abge­legte Ver­sion als auch Zita­ti­ons­kon­ven­tio­nen mit dem Ziel zu ent­wi­ckeln, eine voll­wer­tige Nutz­bar­keit der auf dem Wege des Green Open Access ver­füg­ba­ren Ver­sion herzustellen.

Adres­sa­ten: Wis­sen­schaft­li­che Fach­ge­sell­schaf­ten, wis­sen­schaft­li­che Com­mu­nity und Verlage

Emp­feh­lung 5 | Open Access-Mandate |

Die Ein­füh­rung von wei­chen Open Access Man­da­ten durch For­schungs­ein­rich­tun­gen und for­schungs­för­dernde Orga­ni­sa­tio­nen, die Wis­sen­schaft­le­rin­nen und Wis­sen­schaft­ler ermu­ti­gen, ihre For­schungs­er­geb­nisse im Open Access zu publi­zie­ren, ist zu begrü­ßen. Abge­lehnt wer­den dage­gen auf­grund denk­ba­rer Nach­teile für die Wahl des ori­gi­nä­ren Publi­ka­ti­ons­orts starke Open Access Man­date, die den Cha­rak­ter von Vor­schrif­ten haben.

Adres­sa­ten: Wis­sen­schaft­li­che Förderorganisationen

Kom­men­tare

  • Ein­ge­la­de­ner Kommentar

    Nico­las Apos­to­lo­po­lous, Lei­ter des Cen­ters für Digi­tale Sys­teme (CeDiS), FU Ber­lin über die Emp­feh­lun­gen zu Green Open Access

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bM57QfpOU28

  • Ein­ge­la­de­ner Kommentar

    Najko Jahn, UB Uni­ver­si­tät Bie­le­feld über Green Open Access

    https://youtu.be/5PSRINt0J_A